Master Degree Programmes offered:

  • Master of Environmental Science
  • Master of Environmental Studies (Agroforestry and Rural Development)
  • Master of Science (Environmental Education)
  • Master of  Environmental Studies (Climate Change and Sustainability)
  • Master of Environmental Planning and Management
  • Master of Environmental studies and Community Development
  • Master of Science (Sustainable Urban Development)

Entry Requirements

To qualify for a master’s programme, the common University regulations shall apply. In addition the applicant should have:

A first degree in relevant discipline with a Second Class (Upper Division) or its equivalent from a recognized University OR A Second Class (Lower Division) Degree in relevant discipline with at least two years working experience in areas related to Environmental Studies.

Duration and mode of Study

The programmes are offered either through Regular, Continuing Education Programme (CEP) formerly IBP, or Part time. Depending on the Department, the program can either be through course work, examination, thesis or project. The duration is a minimum of 18 months.

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) Programmes

PhD Programmes are offered in all Departments through Research (Thesis) and course work 

PhD Programmes offered:

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Planning and Management)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Studies and Community Development)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Science)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Agroforestry and Rural Development)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Education)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Climate Change and Sustainability)
  • Doctor of Philosophy (Sustainable Urban Development)

Entry Requirements

Candidates must possess a Master’s Degree or equivalent from a recognized University and fulfill other Departmental requirements.